Home | Press Releases | View Release


Press Inquiries
(480) 551-2713

DATE: 6/27/2006
State Senate Confirms 3 Arizona Medical Board Members

Scottsdale, Ariz. - During the Second Regular Session of the 47th Arizona Legislature, the State Senate confirmed the first-term appointments of Paul Petelin, Sr., M.D., and Patricia R. J. Griffen and the reappointment of Donna Pardo, R.N., Ph.D., to the Arizona Medical Board.

Dr. Pardo and Ms. Griffen are both Public Members of the Board. Dr. Pardo has more than 30 years experience in nursing education and recently retired from the University of Arizona. She is currently Director of Nursing Education for Medical Directions, Inc. (MDI). This is her second, five-year term. She first joined the Board in 2000.

Ms. Griffen is the founding Executive Director of Against Abuse, Inc, established in 1981 to provide domestic violence and child abuse shelter services to the citizens of Pinal County. She was appointed earlier this year to fill the seat once held by Ronnie R. Cox, Ph.D., whose term expired in 2005.

Dr. Petelin, a Physician Member of the Board, is a board certified surgeon in private practice in Phoenix. He serves on the Board of Directors for the Arizona Medical Association and is a past-president of the Phoenix Surgical Society. He was appointed to the Board in 2005 to relaced Ingrid Haas, M.D. Dr. Haas continues to work with the Arizona Medical Board as a Medical Consultant.

The new terms of the three Board Members will run until July 1st, 2010. The Governor appoints Members of the Arizona Medical Board. Each may serve two, five year terms.